• May 17, 2011
  • Advocates in Action
  • 3

52 Members of Congress step up to the plate for President Obama’s LRA strategy

Last week I received an email from a colleague in South Sudan about an LRA attack on a funeral procession in the small village of Kpangu, telling me that five people – including a young girl– had been abducted. Unfortunately, such reports have been all too common recently—the LRA has committed more than 100 attacks so far this year.

Rising levels of LRA violence in central Africa makes the implementation of President Obama’s LRA strategy all the more urgent, and last week a remarkable 20 Senators and 32 Representatives — responding to thousands of people who wrote letters, signed our petition, and joined lobby meetings as part of our S2F campaign — joined in a bipartisan effort to make sure that happens.  These 52 Members of Congress signed Senate and House letters urging their colleagues who hold Congress’ pursestrings to make sure that adequate funds are included in the 2012 budget to effectively implement the strategy.

In signing these letters, these Members of Congress recognized that even in the midst of economic troubles at home there are crises like LRA violence that demand a robust US response. As the letters stated: “Resources invested in ending this conflict now will not only save innocent lives, but also reduce the need for expensive emergency humanitarian aid and promote stability in one of Africa’s most volatile regions.”

Now, our team’s attention turns to the handful of Members of Congress who actually write the foreign aid budget. In the coming weeks and months we’ll be working to ensure that these Congressional leaders take the lead from their peers and include language in the 2012 budget that gives President Obama the tools he needs to apprehend top LRA commanders, protect civilians and assist families displaced by the conflict. But for now, we’d just like to give a shout out to our champions in Congress who signed these letters, and all the advocates who brought it to their attention…THANKS!

– Paul

P.S. – If you’re a constituent of one of these Members of Congress and have an extra minute, consider visiting their website to tell them thanks for signing. Especially for Rep. Jim McGovern, Rep. Jeff Fortenberry, Senator Robert Menendez and Senator John Boozman, who took the lead on the letters. As well as Representative Chaka Fattah and Senators Frank Lautenberg, Diane Feinstein, Richard Durbin and Mary Landrieu – all members of the influential Appropriations committees.


1. Sen. Bennet, Michael (D-CO)

2. Sen. Bingaman, Jeff (D-NM)

3. Sen. Boozman, John (R-AR)

4. Sen. Boxer, Barbara (D-CA)

5. Sen. Cardin, Benjamin L. (D-MD)

6. Sen. Carper, Thomas R. (D-DE)

7. Sen. Casey Jr., Robert P. (D-PA)

8. Sen. Coons, Christopher A. (D-DE)

9. Sen. Durbin, Richard J. (D-IL)

10. Sen. Feinstein, Dianne (D-CA)

11. Sen. Franken, Al (D-MN)

12. Sen. Inhofe, James (R-OK)

13. Sen. Klobuchar, Amy (D-MN)

14. Sen. Landrieu, Mary L. (D-LA)

15. Sen. Lautenberg, Frank R. (D-NJ)

16. Sen. Levin, Carl (D-MI)

17. Sen. Lieberman, Joseph I. (I-CT)

18. Sen. Menendez, Robert  (D-NJ)

19. Sen. Merkley, Jeff (D-OR)

20. Sen. Wyden, Ron (D-OR)


1. Rep. Bass, Karen (D-CA-33)

2. Rep. Berkley, Shelley (D-NV-01)

3. Rep. Brady, Robert A. (D-PA-01)

4. Rep. Capuano, Michael E. (D-MA-08)

5. Rep. Conyers, John Jr.  (D-MI-14)

6. Rep. Davis, Susan A. (D-CA-53)

7. Rep. Fattah, Chaka (D-PA-02)

8. Rep. Filner, Bob (D-CA-51)

9. Rep. Fortenberry, Jeff  (R-NE-01)

10. Rep. Garamendi, John (D-CA-10)

11. Rep. Grijalva, Raul M. (D-AZ-07)

12. Rep. Hastings, Alcee L. (D-FL-23)

13. Rep. Hirono, Mazie K. (D-HI-02)

14. Rep. Kucinich, Dennis J. (D-OH-10)

15. Rep. Lee, Sheila Jackson (D-TX-18)

16. Rep. Lewis, John (D-GA-05)

17. Rep. Lynch, Stephen F. (D-MA-09)

18. Rep. Marino, Tom (R-PA-10)

19. Rep. McDermott, Jim (D-WA-07)

20. Rep. McGovern, James P. (D-MA-03)

21. Rep. Moore, Gwen (D-WI-04)

22. Rep. Myrick, Sue Wilkins (R-NC-09)

23. Rep. Payne, Donald M. (D-NJ-10)

24. Rep. Rush, Bobby L. (D-IL-01)

25. Rep. Schakowsky, Janice D. (D-IL-09)

26. Rep. Schock, Aaron (R-IL-18)

27. Rep. Schwartz, Allyson Y. (D-PA-13)

28. Rep. Stark, Fortney “Pete” (D-CA-13)

29. Rep. Sutton, Betty (D-OH-13)

30. Rep. Tonko, Paul (D-NY-21)

31. Rep. Waters, Maxine (D-CA-35)

32. Rep. Yarmuth, John A. (D-KY-03)

About the Author

Paul Ronan
Paul Ronan

Paul Ronan is Project Director for The Resolve. @pauldronan